Share

Christopher Purves

Biography

Christopher Purves has firmly established himself as one of the leading British baritones of his generation. Through his celebrated interpretations of a diverse and eclectic range of roles and repertoire, he is in great demand with many prestigious theatres around the world. He started his musical life as a choral scholar at King’s College, Cambridge, and went on to become a member of experimental rock group Harvey and the Wallbangers.


Highlights of his 2019/20 season include a return to the title role in Barrie Kosky’s production of Saul, Houston Grand Opera, and his house debut with LA Opera as Golaud in David McVicar’s Pelléas et Mélisande. Concert performances include Balstrode Peter Grimes at The Enescu Festival, The Protector Written on Skin at La Biennale di Venezia and the title role in Bluebeard’s Castle with Opera North.


Recent operatic highlights have included returning to Glyndebourne as Méphistophélès in Richard Jones staging of Berlioz La Damnation de Faust, and Golaud in Stefan Herheim’s new production of Pelléas et Mélisande, Creon in Ensecu Oedipe for Dutch National Opera and Opernhaus Zurich for Barrie Kosky’s production of Die Gezeichneten conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. On the concert platform, recent highlights include the world premiere of The Anvil – An elegy for Peterloo with The BBC Philharmonic and Ben Gernon.


Related articles

Subscribe to our
Newsletter

Registration unavailable... Try again later.

Your browser is outdated

For a better experience,
keep your browser up to date.

Partager
credit Chis Gloag

Christopher Purves

Biographie

Christopher Purves se distingue comme l’un des grands barytons britanniques de sa génération. Cela lui vaut d’incarner de nombreux rôles principaux dans des répertoires très variés auprès de grandes maisons lyriques du monde entier. Il débute sa carrière musicale comme étudiant-boursier au sein du chœur de la chapelle du King’s College de Cambridge, puis rejoint le groupe de rock expérimental Harvey and the Wallbangers.


Parmi les temps forts de sa saison 2019/2020, mentionnons la reprise du rôle-titre de Saül au Grand Opéra de Houston et ses débuts à l’Opéra de Los Angeles avec le rôle de Golaud dans Pelléas et Mélisande mis en scène par David McVicar. Parmi ses prestations de concert, mentionnons Balstrode dans Peter Grimes au Festival Enescu, le Protecteur dans Written on Skin à la Biennale de Venise et le rôle-titre du Château de Barbe-Bleue avec Opera North.


Ses récentes apparitions sur scène voient son retour à Glyndebourne dans le rôle de Méphistophélès dans La Damnation de Faust de Berlioz mis en scène par Richard Jones, et interpréter Golaud de Pelléas et Mélisande dans la nouvelle mise en scène de Stefan Herheim, Créon dans l’Oedipe d’Enesco pour l‘Opéra national des Pays-Bas et participer aux Stigmatisés à l’Opernhaus de Zurich mis en scène par Barrie Kosky et dirigé par Vladimir Jurowski. En concert, il a récemment donné sa voix pour la création mondiale de The Anvil – An elegy for Peterloo auprès du Philharmonique de la BBC dirigé par Ben Gernon.


Articles associés

Retrouvez cet artiste dans...

Et Aussi

S'inscrire à notre
Newsletter

Inscription indisponible... Réessayez plus tard.

Votre navigateur est obsolète

Pour une expérience optimale,
gardez votre navigateur à jour.