Share

William Forsythe

Biography

The multi-award winning William Forsythe has been active in the field of choreography for over 45 years. His work is acknowledged for reorienting the practice of ballet from its identification with classical repertoire to a dynamic 21st century art form. His deep interest in the fundamental principles of organisation has led him to produce a wide range of projects including installations, films, and web-based knowledge creation.


Raised in New York and initially trained in Florida, Forsythe danced with the Joffrey Ballet and later the Stuttgart Ballet, where he was appointed Resident Choreographer in 1976. Over the next seven years, he created new works for the Stuttgart ensemble and ballet companies in Munich, The Hague, London, Basel, Berlin, Frankfurt am Main, Paris, New York, and San Francisco. In 1984, he began a 20-year tenure as director of the Ballet Frankfurt, where he created works such as Artifact, Impressing the Czar, Limb’s Theorem, The Loss of Small Detail, A L I E / N A(C)TION, Eidos:Telos, Endless House, Kammer/Kammerand Decreation.


After the closure of Ballet Frankfurt in 2004, Forsythe established a new ensemble, The Forsythe Company, which he directed from 2005 to 2015. Works produced with this ensemble include Three Atmospheric Studies, You made me a monster, Human Writes, Heterotopia, The Defenders, Yes we can’t, I don’t believe in outer space, The Returnsand Sider. Forsythe’s most recent works were developed and performed exclusively by The Forsythe Company, while his earlier pieces are prominently featured in the repertoire of virtually every major ballet company in the world, including the Mariinsky Ballet, New York City Ballet, San Francisco Ballet, National Ballet of Canada, Semperoper Ballet Dresden, England’s Royal Ballet and The Paris Opera Ballet.Amongst his architectural and performance installations include White Bouncy Castle, City of Abstracts, The Fact of Matter, Nowhere and Everywhere at the Same Time No. 2 and Black Flags.

Forsythe is the first choreographer to be included in the Gagosian Gallery’s roster of artists.


William Forsythe a été en résidence au Châtelet de 1990 à 1998.

Find this artist in...

See also

Subscribe to our
Newsletter

Registration unavailable... Try again later.

Your browser is outdated

For a better experience,
keep your browser up to date.

Partager

William Forsythe

Biographie

William Forsythe, récompensé par de nombreux prix, est actif dans le domaine de la chorégraphie depuis plus de 45 ans. Son travail est reconnu pour avoir donné une nouvelle dimension à la pratique du ballet, de son identification au répertoire classique à une forme d’art dynamique du 21e siècle. Son profond intérêt pour les principes fondamentaux de l’organisation l’a amené à produire un vaste ensemble de projets, notamment des installations, des films et des création reposant sur des savoirs dictés par le web.


Elevé à New York et formé en Floride, Forsythe a dansé avec le Joffrey Ballet, puis le Stuttgart Ballet, où il a été nommé chorégraphe en résidence en 1976. Au cours des sept années suivantes, il créa de nouvelles œuvres pour les ensembles et ballets de Stuttgart à Munich, La Haye, Londres, Bâle, Berlin, Francfort-sur-le-Main, Paris, New York et San Francisco. En 1984, il entame un mandat de 20 ans en tant que directeur du Ballet Frankfurt, où il crée des œuvres telles que Artifact, Impressing the Czar, Limb’s Theorem, The Loss of Small Detail, A L I E / N A(C)TION, Eidos:Telos, Endless House, Kammer/Kammerand Decreation.


Après la fin du Ballet Frankfurt en 2004, Forsythe créa un nouvel ensemble, The Forsythe Company, qu’il dirigea de 2005 à 2015. Les œuvres produites avec cet ensemble comprennent Three Atmospheric Studies, You made me a monster, Human Writes, Heterotopia, The Defenders, Yes we can’t, I don’t believe in outer space, The Returnsand Sider. Les œuvres les plus récentes de Forsythe ont été développées et interprétées exclusivement par la compagnie Forsythe, tandis que ses œuvres précédentes figurent en bonne place dans le répertoire de pratiquement toutes les grandes compagnies de ballet du monde, y compris le Mariinsky Ballet, le New York City Ballet, le San Francisco Ballet, le National Ballet du Canada, le Semperoper Ballet Dresden, le Royal Ballet d’Angleterre et le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris. Parmi ses installations architecturales et ses performances citons White Bouncy Castle, City of Abstracts, The Fact of Matter, Nowhere and Everywhere at the Same Time No. 2 and Black Flags.


William Forsythe est le premier chorégraphe à faire partie de la liste des artistes de la galerie Gagosian.


William Forsythe a été en résidence au Châtelet de 1990 à 1998.

Retrouvez cet artiste dans...

Et Aussi

S'inscrire à notre
Newsletter

Inscription indisponible... Réessayez plus tard.

Votre navigateur est obsolète

Pour une expérience optimale,
gardez votre navigateur à jour.